top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaty Hess

New Beginnings...

Updated: Aug 3, 2019

This is my first blogpost so no pressure, right? As my intro explains this blog is to share with all of you my adventures and experiences during this exciting new season in my life in Perth, Australia. I will be doing a DTS with YWAM Perth.



I don’t know if anyone else relates to this, but talking about myself and attempting to put into words a description of who I am and my life is challenging. But, I’m going to do my best so thank you for your grace and patience with me. 


Ever since I was a child, I had a desire to go on missions. I believe it was a promise God hidden deep in my heart. To be able to go places far and wide and share the love of God has been a dream of mine for a long time. I have known about YWAM for about 8 years. I considered doing a mission trip with YWAM when I was about 20, but instead I chose to start taking prerequisite classes for nursing school. The timing wasn’t right and my focus steered to school and becoming a nurse. When I graduated from nursing school, I moved to Bismarck, North Dakota to work as an OB nurse. I worked in Bismarck for 5 months when I had an amazing opportunity to move back home to Idaho to work at Deaconess Hospital in Spokane, Washington in Labor & Delivery. For the last 2 1/2 years, I have been working full-time as an L&D nurse while going to school online for my Bachelor’s degree in Nursing. During this time, I felt God preparing me that my time to go on a missions trip was coming soon. I promised God that if I still felt that prompting to go on a missions trip that I would apply in January 2019. I already had a missions trip in mind with the Music DTS in YWAM Perth, Australia. I was accepted into the school. I was granted a visa immediately after applying, which was a such an answered prayer because on the website, they said that processing the kind of visa application I needed could take 60-70 days. I felt God’s blessing and peace during this whole process. I graduated with my Bachelor’s degree of Science in Nursing in May and I quit my job in the beginning of June. I had about three weeks from when I stopped working to when I left for YWAM. During that time, I felt lead to really live in the present. To not be caught in the shame of my past or have anxiety over my future. To live in today and soak in what each day had to offer. So I did. I went on hikes, spent quality time with my friends, and went boating every Sunday. It was meaningful and I’m so grateful for the reminder to live in the present. I’m going to carry this mindset on to my time in YWAM.



Anyone that knows me knows that I love to sing and worship. I have been involved with the worship team at my church for years and have had the opportunity to lead worship as well. There is something that is pure, holy and intimate about worshiping God through music. When I feel His presence as I sing to Him, the joy and peace I feel is inexplainable. Worship is also another way that I can express my gratitude for His incredible grace and love.


I am excited for this new season and all God has in store.


Stay tuned,


Katy




75 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page